The Bubble of Ignorance

This is a post I wrote after a particularly public beheading. I started it in February of this year. I haven’t published it because I’ve been scared to. I don’t usually share my political opinions on social media, and to be honest, I’m scared of the backlash. On social media, I’ve been silent on the events in Paris, Beirut, Nigeria, and the rest of the world. At home, I’ve cried so many times for people I’ve never met. 

When I visited Paris, I hated it. I hated how they treated the people experiencing homelessness there. I hated how that, in one part of the city, it was beautiful, but two blocks down, it was awful. I have no personal connection to anyone that’s died in an attack that I know of, but that doesn’t stop me for feeling for the families and friends of those lost. 

There has been so much violence, hate, and sadness lately, and I’ve been silent because I am speechless. I don’t know how to respond. I don’t know what to do.

I’m sharing this now because I need to for me, and I’m sharing it because it needs to be said.

I haven’t edited it, so some of the questions might have answers. 


Sometimes, it can be really easy to sit comfortably in our American Bubble of Ignorance and ignore what’s going on in the world around us.

I am not blind to the events and injustices happening in other parts of the world as well as those happening in the US. I am not blind to the events in the Middle East and the horrendous acts of violence taking place there.

The actions of the self-proclaimed “Islamic State” don’t make sense. They kill anyone they perceive to be their enemy, even their brothers and sisters in Islam. They are spreading fear and hate and without accomplishing anything other than destroying the lives of many.

I have so many questions and no answers…

Why do they continue to commit horrible acts of violence? Why can’t they be stopped?

Why does the media only help spread the fear and hate by only showing the murders they commit? Why can’t they tell us what’s going on and what the “IS” is after? Why only show the violence?

What the “Islamic State” is doing is wrong. We all understand that.

But what do we do? How can we, who so often love to sit in our Bubbles of Ignorance, stop this force from halfway around the world?

I don’t know. I really don’t know.

Hearing about what they’re doing over there whilst I sit here happily going about my life destroys me. I wish I could just wave a magic wand and make it come to an end, but the world doesn’t work that way…

Here’s what I do know.

The actions of the so-called “Islamic State” don’t represent the actions and feelings of Muslims everywhere.

Don’t allow yourself to be sucked into fearing and hating all Muslims because of the actions of the “Islamic State.” We all need to band together against them.

Until we figure out something better to do, don’t add fuel to the fire by hating and bullying others, especially because they happen to be Muslim.

Just do what’s right.

One thought on “The Bubble of Ignorance

  1. Pingback: The Bubble of Ignorance – Part 2 | Past & Present

Leave a Reply

