everything, personal blogging, travel, writing

I’ve lived seven lives since the last time I posted

I just want to start off by saying that there are several horrific things happening around the world at this point in time, including the genocide in Palestine. Use your voice and find ways to protest what’s happening. Even if I have my own issues going on in my personal life, I still acknowledge how fortunate I am to live where I do and to live the life that I live.

My main coping mechanism is writing, and I’ve been asked by several people to keep posting and writing as a way for them to live vicariously through me (which, y’all, you don’t want to, I promise). And because I’m a people pleaser, I can’t say no, so here we are.


Welcome back, friends.

Okay, here we go… where to begin? Let’s start with the title of this post.

I’ve lived seven lives since the last time I posted.

That’s a play on something a friend said to me recently: I feel like you’ve lived seven lives since the last time I saw you.

Which is true. I really have. The last time I posted was in 2020, and here we are, on the cusp of 2024.

What’s changed? Let me try to fill you in.

2020 was a hell of a year for most of us, and my life was no exception.

Since most of my jobs were at a standstill, I spent May in Tucson, Arizona helping my parents. My dad was in a serious car accident that September, and I ended up spending another month and a half out there.

Facetiming my Grammy on her 90th in October 2021

2021 brought the start of a lot of changes.

I moved to Tucson and started working at Kartchner Caverns State Park, finally achieving my goal of becoming a park ranger (interp, not LE). I enjoyed being there, but after the death of my Grammy, things changed again. My folks began planning to move back east. Around that time, I learned of an opportunity to check out the National Park Service and jumped at the chance.

The summers of 2022 and 2023 were spent at Timpanogos Cave National Monument in Utah (I love y’all so much). My winter of 2022 and spring of 2023 were spent living in New Zealand (I know, but I promise, it wasn’t all fun).

Mt. Aoraki / Mt. Cook, South Island, New Zealand, December 2022

If this sounds like a lot to you, it was. I’ve lived in three states and another country in less than three years. It’s been equally awesome and challenging.

Although I’ve had some of the most amazing adventures over the past few years, I’ve also dealt with a lot. From loss to heartbreak to having to make some really tough choices, it really has felt like I’ve lived seven lives.

So where am I at now?

I’ve been on the road for over two months now, travelling almost 7,000 miles, visiting friends and family. As I write this on Christmas Eve, I’m in Kentucky at my Grammy’s former home (where my parents live now).

What’s next for me?

Well, currently, I’m waiting to hear back on some exciting job leads for next summer (and maybe even more than just the summer???). While I wait, I’m working on healing.

I’m slowly crawling out of one of the worst depressions I’ve ever experienced, and as I recover, I’m trying to create more. I’m writing, I’m dancing, I’m reconnecting to my body, and I’m reconnecting with my friends.

I’m trying, y’all.

So, what is next?

#StefWrites at Wallowa Lake in Joseph, Oregon in October of 2023

It kind of depends on which job I end up taking. We’ll find out.

As for this blog, I’ll do my best to keep writing and posting more. I’m working on a book, which may never be published, but as of right now, it’s my main writing focus. One of the jobs will allow me more time to write than the other, so if I take that one, this blog will become a lot more busy. If I take the other, I doubt I’ll get as much time to post here as I’d like.

We’ll just have to wait and see.

I hope you all are well, and thanks for being here.

Much love, and happy birding.


It should go without saying that everything I post here are my own views and experiences and don’t reflect the organizations that I work/have worked for.

Leave a comment